What’s it take to get to Heaven anyway?

Is it one thing?  Many things?  Where is the list YOU use?

HERE IS WHAT I THINK:

According to the Bible::

Ephesians 4: 25-32   So then, putting away falsehood, let all of us speak the truth to our neighbors, for we are members of one another. Be angry but do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and do not make room for the devil. Thieves must give up stealing; rather let them labor and work honestly with their own hands, so as to have something to share with the needy. Let no evil talk come out of your mouths, but only what is useful for building up (also called “edifying”), as there is need, so that your words may give grace to those who hear. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with which you were marked with a seal for the day of redemption. Put away from you all bitterness and wrath and anger and wrangling and slander, together with all malice, and be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ has forgiven you.

To me, it follows that when we are “saved” or whatever you want to call it, i.e., “confirmed”, “accept Jesus as our personal Savior,” etc., that being the moment we realize that God’s Salvation and eternal life are a gift to us, and because we are thankful, we put our own selves into subjection to God, we are “sealed unto the day of redemption” by the Holy Spirit.

Now, again, TO ME, that means that when we are “saved” (as described above), that we are filled (in our spirits/souls) with the Holy Spirit — the Comforter promised to us by Jesus and given to us, filling us we are thereby made God’s “unto the day of Redemption.”

So what or when is “the day of Redemption?

It is my own belief that “the day of Redemption” is when Jesus of Nazareth comes BACK to us ALL in the Eastern sky, and the “dead in Christ” rise, and the rest of us who are God’s, are “raptured” (or taken up) to Heaven.

This is a sticking point with some people, and with some Christian denominations.  But I personally believe what I believe, and that is that for ME.

If any of you want to explain how it is different, and support that difference with the Bible, then I will gladly listen and possibly believe your version.  Until that time, I simply believe as I do.

Some may ask, “What is the ONE key to heaven?”  That is a fair question to which my only response is “Faith in Jesus as Savior.”

Let me talk about Faith with two references:

1.  (KJV) Hebrews 11:1 (I recommend committing this passage or at least reference, to memory!)

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen

Let us dissect that verse a bit.  “The SUBSTANCE of things hoped for, the EVIDENCE of things not seen.”

Substance?  Faith is an abstract term, but we are told here that faith is the SUBSTANCE (a tangible thing from the abstract definition) of things HOPED FOR…

What is it then that is hoped for?  Eternal Life of course!

Knowing that when our bodies die, our souls live on, in Heaven, with God/Jesus/The Holy Spirit, as well as the others who are the children of God who, without having had opportunity to accept Christ, are in heaven because of innocence.  How else would God treat people who never heard of or were afforded the explanation of how to, or the opportunity to, accept Jesus as Savior of their lives?

More than a few people would say that the statement I just made is heretical. Well, then so be it.  Call it as you will, I just do not think that my God, OUR Father in Heaven, OUR Creator, and Jesus our Lord, would send innocent people, who had no opportunity to know Jesus in this life, to HELL.  I mean really, how would that be different than God sending an innocent BABY to Hell just because that baby had never accepted Christ, due to lack of ability/opportunity?

I expect argument on the previous paragraph, and that is ok.  People are certainly afforded their right to believe as they will in this country, and I am certainly not a person with the authority to deny them their beliefs or rights.  I respect the beliefs of others, and although mine are open for discussion, many people are so dogmatic about things that they can not have a discussion about anything at all, especially that which has been told to them by a preacher rather than them having read it in the Bible for themselves.  (There’s no shortage of people that think a preacher’s sermons are totally out of the Bible, and that his phrases used in preaching are actual Bible references.  I.e., I grew up hearing that when WE forgive, we are supposed to throw the forgiven offense into a sea of forgetfulness, as God does with ours.  That is nowhere in the Bible.  I’ve personally verified that it is not)  Many, and they are the people who have tainted Christianity in the eye of the American public by being judgmental and self-righteous, will argue this theological hypothesis of mine “unto the day of redemption” itself LOL.  No problem.  Argue away!  That is why this blog is here–discussion.  That said, I’d personally appreciate it if people who want to post, or do post differing opinions, simply be nice about it.  I give respect, but I also command and expect respect from others.

2.  Here is a reference regarding faith that is a bit longer:

Romans 10:13-17 (KJV)

Because, Whoever will give worship to the name of the Lord will get salvation. But how will they give worship to him in whom they have no faith? and how will they have faith in him of whom they have not had news? and how will they have news without a preacher? And how will there be preachers if they are not sent? As it is said, How beautiful are the feet of those who give the glad news of good things. But they have not all given ear to the good news. For Isaiah says, Lord, who has had faith in our word? So faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ

One thing I want to state right off the bat about that last verse….I do not like the use of the word “Christ” in place of the name “Jesus“.  I am not saying that the Bible reference should be rewritten, but this is just a personal pet peeve of mine.   Christ is a description whereas Jesus is a being.  Therefore, I would rather hear someone tell me to “believe in Jesus” than to tell me “believe in Christ.”

Jesus IS the Christ.  “Christ” is not his name…it is what He IS.  His actual name was/is “Yeshua….” in Aramaic I believe.  I am not sure and would have to look it up, but I “get it.”  I just do not agree with that use of the word “Christ” as a synonym for Jesus is all. However, as long as I know who/what someone is speaking of in a conversation, then ok, fine.  If I am speaking with a fellow Christian, then I know right away what they “mean” by the use of the word “Christ,” but I personally use the Name of Jesus instead of referring to him as “Christ.”  Whatever…it is simply my personal logic and pet peeve, and to me it makes sense.

Please comment and tell me what YOU feel is required to cross into those pearly gates!  I welcome any and all questions and comments.  Feel free to disagree and dicuuss.  That’s the entire point of thslls


I spend a LOT of time on the computer, so you will likely hear back from me in 24-48 hour on the outside…feel free to (nicely) speak your mind in such mail…Else I will have no choice to just delete/archive the Mail.  No sense in you wasting your time!